Tuesday, July 07, 2020 19:31

Archive for the ‘Event Showcase’ Category

Shepton Mallet Prison

Sunday, June 7th, 2020

Event Showcase: Shepton Mallet Prison

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/shepton-mallet-prison.php
History of Shepton Mallet Prison
HMP Shepton Mallet, located in Shepton Mallet, Somerset, England.
The prison was opened before 1625. In 1843 the number of cells was increased by adding a second storey to each wing. The prison was damaged during a fire in 1904.
Following the outbreak of the Second World War in 1939 the prison was reopened as a military prison. It was initially used by the British Army and later by American forces. It was also used for the storage of important historical documents from the Public Record Office in London, including Domesday Book.
Much of what has taken place here was brutal. In the 17th and 18th centuries men, women and children were kept in horrendous conditions, starving in packed, smallpox-infested cells. Former inmates lie in unmarked graves throughout the grounds.
Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating #SheptonMalletPrison since 2019. On our site visit during the daytime we didn’t like the atmosphere in A Wing as it had a bad feeling. We didn’t know at that time what A wing was used for. We found out after our site visit that this wing was used to house lifers and murderers! On our first #ghosthunt at this prison we had a group talking to our Medium Steve around the Hangman’s cell and the execution area. Everyone here heard a snap of a rope and the floor “bounced” as if someone had been hung.
Our favourite areas are; A Wing, this proved to be a great area for tech and gadgets, B wing was good for Ouija board and table tipping. C wing was good for solo vigils (C wing was where the Krays were held). The infirmary was good for séances and human pendulum. Not forgetting the small D wing where the hangman’s cell and execution area is, great for EVP, gadgets, solo vigils and séances.
Currently we don’t have any video from the Prison.
Social Share Toolbar

The Royal Hotel

Thursday, June 4th, 2020

Event Showcase: The Royal Hotel

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/the-royal-hotel.php
History of The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel in Deal, Kent opened April 1837. Prior to this it was called the “Three Kings.” and historical records show this being open in 1750.
This 18th century Georgian hotel with it’s historical connections to Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton who were frequent visitors to this hotel, is situated on Deal’s seafront close to Deal pier and Deal castle.
Winston Churchill also stayed at The Royal Hotel when visiting Dover Castle during the Second World War.
A night porter has witnessed the ghostly figure of Lady Hamilton sitting in a corner of The Royal Hotel’s lounge, having often stayed in the hotel when visiting her beloved Admiral Nelson.
The voices and noise of children are often heard in a particular part of this hotel late at night.
Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating #RoyalHotel since 2020 and our first investigation in January 2020 we had some interesting activity. Whilst some of the guests were downstairs, there were two guests in Churchill (one of three rooms that are linked by the veranda) listening out for laughter or noises, as we had thought we heard something outside. Another team member was in the next room doing a solo vigil and had to leave the room because the kettle had turned itself on!
Our favourite areas are; The three interesting rooms; Churchill, Hamilton and Wellington plus the corridors and rooms on the 1st floor, which were good for table tilting and ouija boards.
You can watch our videos at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLqWQMrZeI7VTq3ITuvcNpF8Pe-bKprTY5
Social Share Toolbar

Fort Burgoyne

Tuesday, June 2nd, 2020

Event Showcase: Fort Burgoyne

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/fort-burgoyne.php
History of Fort Burgoyne
Fort Burgoyne in Dover, Kent was originally known as Castle Hill Fort. Work was completed in 1868.
The main fort comprised a large parade ground, to the North of which was a long row of casemates, which provided the barrack accommodation for soldiers and officers. Above the casemates,  were Haxo Casemates, which housed the guns.
This was to guard the high ground northeast of the strategic port of Dover.
The fort is named after the 19th century General John Fox Burgoyne.
After the First World War Fort Burgoyne was used as military depot.
Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating #FortBurgoyne since 2017. This fort is one of the larger venues that we visit and certainly the largest fort that we investigate. There are also lots of areas that we haven’t explored or investigated yet. We have witnessed; disembodied voices, footsteps, whistles, shadows and many more visual oddities as well as audible noises. The best evidence came on our first visit in one of the lower rooms during a séance. One of the guests was on the floor unable to get up, because a spirit was holding him down, when the guest noticed the door to the room had closed. Immediately I asked for the spirit to open the door, and it flew open. I then asked for the spirit to close it and the spirit complied. After that various people asked for the door to be opened or closed, slammed or gently pushed and the spirit complied.  You can see the video, link below.
Our favourite areas are; The Caponier where we get a lot of EVP and audio responses, The casemates (the are two sets, but the right-hand set is more active) for Table tilting and Ouija boards. The lower rooms below the casemates are better for séances, although we have had good results in casemates too.
Watch our videos at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLqWQMrZeI7VQRddMzzAoFirhMnlsZCMwv
Social Share Toolbar

Old Church House Inn

Sunday, May 31st, 2020

Event Showcase: Old Church House Inn


https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/old-church-house-inn.php
History of Old Church House Inn
The Old Church House Inn, Torbryan, Devon, built in 1240, it predates the Black Death and the fireplace is thought to be 8th century in origin.
The de Brian family were the longest lasting tenants having resided here for 250 years.
Behind the bar the wood panelling that lines the wall was salvaged from one of the ships of the defeated Spanish Armada.
According to legend, Bertie Robinson was working on a supernatural tale of terror concerning a giant black devil dog that hunted down and wiped out a family.
Another writer who frequented the pub was none other than, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, author of Sherlock Holmes mysteries.
Some believe Doyle stole the idea from Robinson and used it to write The Hound Of The Baskerville’s. Arguably his most famous book.
Ghost Hunting
Talk of ghosts have been a part of the Inn’s history for well over a century. With both staff and patrons having numerous encounters with the supernatural.
Most Haunted investigated the Inn in 2005.
Other reported ghostly sightings:-
The Disembodied Arm – In 1997, a woman staying in Room 1 was yanked out of a deep sleep when a horrific sight met her eyes, that of a disembodied arm of a man was floating directly in front of her pointing at the wall behind her.
The Spectral Monk – Over the last century the menacing figure of a monk in a black robe and hood has been witnessed lurking around the bar.
The Landlord’s Encounter – A former landlord who lived at the bar with his son heard the boy cry out in terror. When he entered his son’s room he could see the transparent form of a man leaning over his son.
The Armada Wall – Patrons sitting at the bar have claimed to see the screaming faces of men in the wood stripped from the Spanish Armada war ship.
No ghost hunt has taken place for the last 15 years, hopefully at our event in February we’ll have some evidence.
Social Share Toolbar

Theatre Royal

Thursday, May 28th, 2020

Event Showcase: Theatre Royal

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/theatre-royal.php
History of Theatre Royal
The Theatre Royal, Margate, Kent is the oldest theatre in Kent and the second oldest theatre in England. The Theatre Royal was built in 1787, burned down in 1829 and was remodelled in 1879. The exterior is largely from the l9th century and has remained relatively untouched.
From 1885 to 1899 actor-manager Sarah Thorne ran a school for acting at the Theatre Royal which is widely regarded as Britain’s first formal drama school.
According to local reports, hauntings began in 1918 when the ghost of Sarah Thorne (an actress) was seen. Paranormal activity has been reported on the stage and backstage and it is known that one of the boxes is haunted as a man jumped from the box to his death during a performance.
Another ghost, that of an actor who committed suicide, is held responsible for creating strange lights that float around the stage area.
Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating #TheatreRoyal since 2013 and have witnessed; instrumental sounds, whispering, voices, coughs, chills, talking, footsteps, doors banging and names being called out! Plus we have had many an active séance session where people have been pushed, sometimes to the floor. Under the stage is generally a very active area, as is the stage.
Our favourite areas are; The top floor of the theatre as we often have some good tech sessions here, the stage as just about every activity we get good results here and below the stage is where we have had some great séance sessions as well as EVP’s and where guests have heard strange noises and musical sounds.
You can watch our videos at https://youtu.be/mue-Vrmk13M?list=PLqWQMrZeI7VQKDGkslNSxmTAJ2wXSyppi
Social Share Toolbar

D Day Tunnels

Tuesday, May 26th, 2020

Event Showcase: D Day Tunnels

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/d-day-tunnels.php
History of D Day Tunnels
The D Day Tunnels (Underground World War Two Command Centre) in Portsmouth, Hampshire are directly beneath Fort Southwick and they were excavated by the Royal Engineers in 1942.
700 staff worked here during the D-Day Normandy Landings by Allied troops during the Second World War.
After the war the tunnels ceased operations in 1949 then reopened during the 1956 Suez Crisis & during the Cold War. The Command Centre remained in use until 1974.
The existence of the D Day Tunnels was a closely guarded secret. The entrance to these tunnels are very uninteresting and unimposing.
Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating the #DDayTunnels since 2013 and have witnessed; strange whispering, voices, coughs, chills, talking, footsteps, doors closing and keys jangling not to mention pushing and shoving during our séances. The whole complex is eerie and it doesn’t matter what time of day or time of year you are in the tunnels it is always the same.
Just last year as we were waiting for the person to lock up, we were doing a final check to make sure we had all our equipment and two of us saw a person walking in the tunnels from a reasonable distance, we assumed it was the third member of our team although we wondered why he was walking in that direction but nevertheless we left the tunnels to wait outside and he was already outside and had been for 15 minutes! About 10 minutes after this the guy turned up to lock the venue, so it wasn’t him either!
Our favourite areas are; The large map room, the communication room and the old toilet area as well as the room halfway up the stairs (leading to the fort). Many of our guests have had some great personal experiences in the tunnels, but unfortunately for us we rarely have had cameras recording when the interesting stuff happens.

You can watch our EVP video at https://youtu.be/K9yNSaACJ-I
Social Share Toolbar

Bilsington Priory

Sunday, May 24th, 2020

Event Showcase: Bilsington Priory

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/bilsington-priory.php
History of Bilsington Priory
St Augustine’s Priory, Bilsington, Kent was founded by John Mansel in June 1253 with the consent of Henry III and the Archbishop of Canterbury professing the rule of St Augustine.
St Augustine’s Priory was surrendered to the crown in 1535 and it was abandoned at Henry VIII’s dissolution of the monasteries in 1538.
During the 1820s it was a base for smuggling gangs namely the Ransley Gang and The Aldington Gang. The Priory was restored in 1906.
During the Second World War troops were billeted at St Augustine’s Priory and at some point it was also an infirmary.
Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating #BilsingtonPriory since 2017 although we held one event in 2008 and have witnessed; disembodied voices, cough, whistles and footsteps. We have had people pushed to the floor and held there during séances. Lots of personal information has been received via Ouija boards.
On one occasion we had someone go into a trance and attempted to walk down the spiral staircase on their own!
On another occasion there were two team members who both had groups, one in the tower, the other in the celebration room and they both heard footsteps coming towards them, apparently it was so real that they both went to investigate and found each other!
Our favourite areas are:- The celebration room for all activities but especially tech and gadgets. The ground floor/bar for tables and ouija boards, although the kitchen can sometimes can be spooky too. The rooms in the Tower though are where most of the unexplained activity takes place, from interesting séance sessions and human pendulum sessions.
We have been meaning to put our underwater microphone in the pond for a few years but the weather has usually hampered our experiment, but one day we will.
You can watch our video at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLqWQMrZeI7VSWCfsXFKuAIJBLt4NGHFyJhttps://youtu.be/z0w3jVVMIAk
Social Share Toolbar

Royal Gunpowder Mills

Thursday, May 21st, 2020

Event Showcase: Royal Gunpowder Mills

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/royal-gunpowder-mills.php

History of Royal Gunpowder Mills
The Royal Gunpowder Mills, Waltham Abbey, Essex was one of three Royal Gunpowder Mills in the UK but is the only site to have survived virtually intact. The Royal Gunpowder Mills, were in operation for over 300 years.

Throughout the First World War the number of workers exceeded 6000, mostly local and female workers. After World War I production continued and crucial development work was carried out on TNT production and on the new explosive RDX.

During World War II it an important cordite production unit and for the first two years of the war was the sole producer of RDX (the explosive that was used in the Bouncing Bomb).

The Royal Gunpowder Mills finally closed on 28 July 1945.

In 1945 the establishment re-opened as a research centre.

In 1984 the South site and the Lower Island works were handed over to Royal Ordnance Plc immediately prior to its privatisation.

After various reorganisations of Governmental research, the research centre finally closed in 1991, bringing to an end 300 years of explosives production and research.

Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating the #RoyalGunpowderMills since 2017 and we have witnessed a lot of interesting paranormal occurrences. Most of what has been witnessed has been personal to the guests present. We have also done some lone vigils and EVP recording in the Spinks Gallery and some other buildings which have been successful.

Our favourite areas are; The Museum – has been really good for tech and gadgets as well as lone vigils and potential EVP’s, The Old Fire Station building which is now The Lab – has previously been good for séances, The buildings on the Mead have been really good for tech and gadgets as well as Ouija boards and Table tilting.

So far we haven’t had any video recorded during an event.

Social Share Toolbar

The Guildhall

Tuesday, May 19th, 2020

Event Showcase: The Guildhall

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/the-guildhall.php

History of The Guildhall
The Guildhall Museum in Sandwich, Kent was built in 1579. Work in 1812 encased the building in yellow brick, this was removed 100 years later in 1912, when the south-west wing was also added

The security staff at this building have reported the sounds of footsteps in the halls, a feeling of being watched as they lock up and the old staircase has a surprise for the casual visitor! Hold on to the handrail…

Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating the #TheGuildhall since 2011 and we have witnessed lots of paranormal occurrences. To list everything that has happened in the last 9 years would take a while, but some of the best experiences haven’t been recorded.
On one of the first events, the group (of about 10 people) were sitting in the Council Chamber and a guest heard the sound of someone sit beside her as she heard the chair squeak, but the chair didn’t have anyone physical in it.
One of the best nights was a team only event last year, when during a ouija board session in the Robing Room (behind the Council Chamber) two of us got pushed and pulled back in our chairs during the session and we all heard knocking and banging sounds in the store room behind us.

Our favourite areas are; The Court room as we have had lots of EVP’s and strange séance sessions in the room. The Council Chamber is where we usually have a séance session and many things have happened here including hearing footsteps across the wooden floor (unfortunately this hasn’t happened since carpet has been laid). There have been many paranormal occurrences in other rooms but the Kitchen has always had some strange things happen in it usually when someone is on their own!

You can watch our videos at https://youtu.be/NLN3fUKdz9E?list=PLqWQMrZeI7VSWsUsjdH8HBlUvSeeLo1AH

Social Share Toolbar

Red Lion Hotel

Sunday, May 17th, 2020

Event Showcase: Red Lion Hotel

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/red-lion-hotel.php

History of Red Lion Hotel
The Brook Red Lion Hotel in Colchester, Essex is a historical Grade I listed building dating back to 1465. Located in the busy town centre of Colchester, Britain’s oldest recorded town, The Brook Red Lion Hotel in Colchester is one of the oldest inns in the area.

The Parliament Restaurant at the Red Lion Hotel was once the old Banqueting Hall, still showing its timbered beams.

There are three known ghosts – a small boy that can be seen in the Parliament restaurant occasionally and has appeared in a guest’s photograph, a ghostly monk that hangs around in reception, but the most active is Alice Millar.
Alice was a chambermaid at the hotel and was killed by a lover.
Alice has regularly been heard whispering and even talking to staff. There are recent accounts of people’s hair being pulled and a womans voice appearing on a video taken in one of the rooms, with no obvious cause.

Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating the #RedLionHotel since 2012 and we have witnessed mountains of paranormal occurrences. To list everything that has happened in the last 8 years would take a while, but some of the best experiences haven’t been recorded. On one Hen night they were sitting around a table in the Restaurant starting a Ouija board session when one of the bayonet light bulbs jumped up and out of the chandelier and landed unbroken on the table below where the ouija board was. To say that everyone screamed would be an understatement!

Our favourite areas are; Rooms 7 & 10 and the cellar, although we have has things happen in rooms; 5, 6, 9 & 11. Room 6 & 7 are good for Ouija boards, the cellar is good for séances and other activities. All the rooms are good for tech. The restaurant is good for ouija boards too. Each room has its own story and its own activity.

You can watch our videos at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLA123A7F5AA41F7E6

Social Share Toolbar