Friday, May 27, 2022 04:04

Archive for the ‘Event Showcase’ Category

Royal Gunpowder Mills

Thursday, May 21st, 2020

Event Showcase: Royal Gunpowder Mills

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/royal-gunpowder-mills.php

History of Royal Gunpowder Mills
The Royal Gunpowder Mills, Waltham Abbey, Essex was one of three Royal Gunpowder Mills in the UK but is the only site to have survived virtually intact. The Royal Gunpowder Mills, were in operation for over 300 years.

Throughout the First World War the number of workers exceeded 6000, mostly local and female workers. After World War I production continued and crucial development work was carried out on TNT production and on the new explosive RDX.

During World War II it an important cordite production unit and for the first two years of the war was the sole producer of RDX (the explosive that was used in the Bouncing Bomb).

The Royal Gunpowder Mills finally closed on 28 July 1945.

In 1945 the establishment re-opened as a research centre.

In 1984 the South site and the Lower Island works were handed over to Royal Ordnance Plc immediately prior to its privatisation.

After various reorganisations of Governmental research, the research centre finally closed in 1991, bringing to an end 300 years of explosives production and research.

Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating the #RoyalGunpowderMills since 2017 and we have witnessed a lot of interesting paranormal occurrences. Most of what has been witnessed has been personal to the guests present. We have also done some lone vigils and EVP recording in the Spinks Gallery and some other buildings which have been successful.

Our favourite areas are; The Museum – has been really good for tech and gadgets as well as lone vigils and potential EVP’s, The Old Fire Station building which is now The Lab – has previously been good for séances, The buildings on the Mead have been really good for tech and gadgets as well as Ouija boards and Table tilting.

So far we haven’t had any video recorded during an event.

Social Share Toolbar

The Guildhall

Tuesday, May 19th, 2020

Event Showcase: The Guildhall

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/the-guildhall.php

History of The Guildhall
The Guildhall Museum in Sandwich, Kent was built in 1579. Work in 1812 encased the building in yellow brick, this was removed 100 years later in 1912, when the south-west wing was also added

The security staff at this building have reported the sounds of footsteps in the halls, a feeling of being watched as they lock up and the old staircase has a surprise for the casual visitor! Hold on to the handrail…

Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating the #TheGuildhall since 2011 and we have witnessed lots of paranormal occurrences. To list everything that has happened in the last 9 years would take a while, but some of the best experiences haven’t been recorded.
On one of the first events, the group (of about 10 people) were sitting in the Council Chamber and a guest heard the sound of someone sit beside her as she heard the chair squeak, but the chair didn’t have anyone physical in it.
One of the best nights was a team only event last year, when during a ouija board session in the Robing Room (behind the Council Chamber) two of us got pushed and pulled back in our chairs during the session and we all heard knocking and banging sounds in the store room behind us.

Our favourite areas are; The Court room as we have had lots of EVP’s and strange séance sessions in the room. The Council Chamber is where we usually have a séance session and many things have happened here including hearing footsteps across the wooden floor (unfortunately this hasn’t happened since carpet has been laid). There have been many paranormal occurrences in other rooms but the Kitchen has always had some strange things happen in it usually when someone is on their own!

You can watch our videos at https://youtu.be/NLN3fUKdz9E?list=PLqWQMrZeI7VSWsUsjdH8HBlUvSeeLo1AH

Social Share Toolbar

Red Lion Hotel

Sunday, May 17th, 2020

Event Showcase: Red Lion Hotel

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/red-lion-hotel.php

History of Red Lion Hotel
The Brook Red Lion Hotel in Colchester, Essex is a historical Grade I listed building dating back to 1465. Located in the busy town centre of Colchester, Britain’s oldest recorded town, The Brook Red Lion Hotel in Colchester is one of the oldest inns in the area.

The Parliament Restaurant at the Red Lion Hotel was once the old Banqueting Hall, still showing its timbered beams.

There are three known ghosts – a small boy that can be seen in the Parliament restaurant occasionally and has appeared in a guest’s photograph, a ghostly monk that hangs around in reception, but the most active is Alice Millar.
Alice was a chambermaid at the hotel and was killed by a lover.
Alice has regularly been heard whispering and even talking to staff. There are recent accounts of people’s hair being pulled and a womans voice appearing on a video taken in one of the rooms, with no obvious cause.

Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating the #RedLionHotel since 2012 and we have witnessed mountains of paranormal occurrences. To list everything that has happened in the last 8 years would take a while, but some of the best experiences haven’t been recorded. On one Hen night they were sitting around a table in the Restaurant starting a Ouija board session when one of the bayonet light bulbs jumped up and out of the chandelier and landed unbroken on the table below where the ouija board was. To say that everyone screamed would be an understatement!

Our favourite areas are; Rooms 7 & 10 and the cellar, although we have has things happen in rooms; 5, 6, 9 & 11. Room 6 & 7 are good for Ouija boards, the cellar is good for séances and other activities. All the rooms are good for tech. The restaurant is good for ouija boards too. Each room has its own story and its own activity.

You can watch our videos at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLA123A7F5AA41F7E6

Social Share Toolbar

Margam Castle

Thursday, May 14th, 2020

Event Showcase: Margam Castle

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/margam-castle.php

History of Margam Castle
Margam Castle in Port Talbot, Wales is a spectacular Tudor Gothic Mansion and is said to be one of the most haunted buildings in Wales. The Castle was built between 1830 and 1840.

The Margam estate had been in Thomas Mansel Talbot’s family since 1536. The site was deliberately chosen for its historic associations and picturesque position at the foot of a wooded historic hill, Mynydd-y-Castell, itself the site of Margam’s earliest habitation, with the ruins of the Cistercian Abbey and the eighteenth century Orangery visible to the West. The prospect of the house, rising above the Orangery and monastic remains to the west is unique in Wales.

Margam Castle’s own Security Guards have reported many strange experiences such as running footsteps, cries and the laughter of Children even when the building has been reported to have been empty.

Ghost Hunting
Our first investigation at #MargamCastle was in February this year (2020) with storm Ciara raging in the background, certainly making it atmospheric!
On this investigation we witnessed disembodied voices, chuckles and whistles. Some superb table tilting and some unnerving experiences in the old nursery room.

The staircase was a strange place to be and various people felt strange or odd whilst ascending or descending the staircase. We have a strange light anomaly recorded on the main staircase and the comment made by the guests who were descending it shortly after make it very interesting too.

Our favourite areas are:- the downstairs rooms were good for tech and gadgets, as were the rooms upstairs. The nursery was the excellent for ouija board and the main bedrooms were good for séances and table tilting.

You can watch our videos at https://youtu.be/6FP-YL6HKV0?list=PLqWQMrZeI7VS9jE6OY7gKx4Kd-_gK0IGO

Social Share Toolbar

Newhaven Fort

Tuesday, May 12th, 2020

Event Showcase: Newhaven Fort

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/newhaven-fort.php

History of Newhaven Fort
Newhaven Fort is a Palmerston fort built in 1864, with a workforce of 250 men and three steam engines. completed in the summer of 1871.

The fort was originally armed in the 1870s and rearmed in 1906.

The guns were replaced in 1941. The army vacated the fort in 1962. Restoration began in 1982.

Ghost Hunting
There are numerous reports from visitors to the Fort, when walking into the main tunnels, or the caponier, of being pushed and seeing dark figures slipping into the shadows. Other reports include sounds and smells, people have reported the noises of chains clinking. Some believe it is the ghost of a woman called Martha who committed suicide at the fort. Other occurrences happen in the magazines and laboratory.

People have reported hearing the sounds of soldiers boots, footsteps and shuffling, moans of suffering have also been heard and reported on numerous occasions.

We have been investigating #NewhavenFort since 2017 and have witnessed; diembodied voices, footsteps, whistles and more. People have seen the backs of what they thought were real people, when in fact it couldn’t have been anyone. People have heard their names being called whilst in the tunnel to the Caponier. In the Laboratory footsteps have been heard and footprints have been left (one of our investiagtions it had been snowing and footprints appeared in the snow walking into the Laboratory whilst we we inside!)

Our favourite areas are; The Caponier & the magazine rooms near it, the Laboratory, the large Magazines at the top of the Fort and even the semi-outdoor gun battery where we have heard voices and a strange clicking or tapping during one of our séance sessions. Just about any part of this fort is good for any activity and we have tried all activities in most parts of the fort.

Watch our videos at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLqWQMrZeI7VS2PNN1Ut7YeZDjqxdjvi0F

Social Share Toolbar

Beacon Hill Fort

Sunday, May 10th, 2020

Event Showcase: Beacon Hill Fort

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/beacon-hill-fort.php

History of the Beacon Hill Fort
Beacon Hill Fort in Harwich, Essex was originally three blockhouses, constructed during the reign of Henry VIII, following his visit to the town in 1543.

The site was chosen for Harwich Barracks. These were built in 1803. They subsequently housed most of the Harwich army and militia camp during almost the whole French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars era, and a naval signal station.

In 1889 work began on a totally new fort, which was completed in 1892. The fort saw use in World War One, and was re-adapted in World War Two. The Beacon Hill site also from time to time housed anti-aircraft guns and torpedo tubes.

The fort was finally decommissioned in 1956.

Uncertainty still surrounds the death of Gregory Chung whose burnt and decomposing body was found at the Beacon Hill fort at Harwich in 2000. A murder inquiry was launched but the inquest heard it was probable Mr Chung, 23, set fire to himself.

Ghost Activity
Since no-one has hosted a ghost hunt at this location, there currently aren’t any recommendations of where we would recommend or where we have witnessed activity.
However we are hopeful that at our planned event in September will go ahead and we will have activity in certain areas

Social Share Toolbar

Vinters Park

Thursday, May 7th, 2020

Event Showcase: Vinters Park

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/vinters-valley.php

 

History of Vinters Park

Vinters Valley Nature Reserve in Maidstone, Kent has had a very interesting history and a house has stood on this land for 600 years.

Roman remains have been found on the site in the past, but the first recorded history was when a Roger de Vinter bought the land from the Abbott of Boxley in 1343, and built the first house.

Vinters house was bought by a local businessman, James Whatman of Vinters. Although he didn’t ever live in Vinters his son did. James Whatman of Vinters moved into the house in 1782, having bought it some time previously from the then Lord Ongley. He died in 1798 aged 57, and like many Whatmans was buried at Boxley Church.

During the Second World War the house was taken over for Military purposes and many Army units passed through the park. The fine furniture and effects were locked away. The ATS girls stayed in the house, with the men in billets near the kitchen garden. Having been empty for a few years the entire estate comprising of 660 acres was sold to a property developer in 1956. Shortly after this the house burnt down, and was demolished.

Ghost Hunting

We have been investigating the #VintersPark since 2017 and from the moment we stepped inside the Nature Reserve we have felt, seen and witnessed lots of paranormal activity.

This venue is our only outdoor venue now and there are distinct areas of the park which are more paranormally active than others.

Our favourite areas are; beside the bridge, this was the original entrance to the house, the terrace which was just outside the house, the lime walk which is good for table tilting and many people have seen something unexplainable here.

We often use the area around the old Kitchen Garden for our tech and gadget sessions as these have proved successful in the past.

We don’t have any video footage from this venue because we don’t bring cameras to outdoor venues.

Social Share Toolbar

Kelvedon Hatch

Tuesday, May 5th, 2020

Event Showcase: Kelvedon Hatch

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/kelvedon-hatch.php

History of Kelvedon Hatch, Secret Nuclear Bunker
Kelvedon Hatch, Secret Nuclear Bunker in Brentwood, Essex started its life as an RAF ROTOR Station, originally built in 1952 by the Air Ministry, then a brief period as a civil defence centre through to its most recent life as a Regional Government HQ.

Designed for up to 600 military and civilian personnel, possibly even the Prime Minister, their collective task being to organise the survival of the population in the aftermath of a nuclear war.

The bunker was decommissioned in 1992 and bought back into private ownership.

Ghost Hunting
Apparitions have been seen roaming the floors, moving room to room. Apparently witnesses have described it as taking the form of an ‘tall elderly lady’.

An RAF officer has been spotted and visitors have had the frightening experience of a woman in uniform who instructs them to leave the building!

We have been investigating #KelvedonHatch since August 2017 and on our first visit two members of our team heard a disembodied whistle whilst they were doing a recce, deciding where to hold their sessions before the guests arrived.

After the guests left, just 4 of our team decided to hold an EVP session in the boiler room (right at the bottom) and at the time we had two voice recorders recording at the same time and after one of the questions we played it back and we all heard the answer to the question “Scarlet Pimpernel” which is odd to say the least. What made this even weirder is then when we tried to listen again to these recordings at home, the recordings (on both machines) had disappeared!

Our favourite areas are; The boiler room for Tech and EVP’s, the sick bay for séances and table board and ouija boards work best in the communication rooms

You can watch our videos at https://youtu.be/3cb9_sIAufY?list=PLqWQMrZeI7VTGXrHYx2z43l33zlkjPzaA

Social Share Toolbar

Old Forde House

Sunday, May 3rd, 2020

Event Showcase: Old Forde House

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/old-forde-house.php

History of Old Forde House
Old Forde House in Newton Abbot, Devon has provided hospitality for kings, queens, princes, princesses and numerous lords and ladies since the reign of Elizabeth I.

Although there has been a house on this site since 1539, the present house bears the date 1610 and is built in the shape of the letter E. Commonly thought to be in honour of Queen Elizabeth I

King Charles I visited Forde House in 1625, on his way to Plymouth to inspect the fleet. In 1646 (Civil War) Sir Thomas Fairfax, accompanied by his lieutenant-general, Oliver Cromwell, stayed at Forde House on their way to capture Dartmouth.

It was in the year 1688 that William, Prince of Orange sailed from the Hague and landed at Brixham to lead his army to the capital. Two days after his arrival the Prince reached Newton Abbot. Prince William proceeded to Forde House. Prince William stayed overnight at Forde House in the first floor room known ever since as the Orange Room.

Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating the #OldFordeHouse since 2016.

Our favourite areas are; The Parlour for Table tilting and Séances (quite often people get touched or pushed during a séance!). The main hall is also good for table tilting and Ouija boards. Upstairs the Orange room and The Library are both good for Ouija boards, Séances and tech sessions. One of the most active ares where we haven’t held any sessions is the Male Toilets, not sure why but we have heard whispers, whistles and voices emanating from there when we’ve been upstairs. Strange smells (rotting flesh) has been smelt on the staircase too along with faces looking out of the rear facing windows. Many people have also had a paranormal encounter whilst in the snug room.

We don’t have any video footage from this location because we generally don’t bring our cameras to this venue.

Social Share Toolbar

Redoubt Fort

Thursday, April 30th, 2020

Event Showcase: Harwich Redoubt Fort

https://www.ghosthuntevents.co.uk/harwich-redoubt-fort.php

History of Harwich Redoubt Fort
The Redoubt Fort in Harwich, Essex was constructed between 1808 and 1810 to protect the port of Harwich against the threat of Napoleonic invasion. The fort was constructed on a hill, which allowed views in all directions.

French prisoners of war were made to help construct the fort. The fort has a central parade ground. It was originally armed with ten 24 pounder cannons. In 1861 a 68 pounder cannon was added to the fort’s weapon range.

No shot was ever fired in anger at the Fort. The fort was briefly used during the Second World War to house British troops awaiting trial.

Ghostly Activity
Witnesses have reportedly seen apparitions through the windows and heard unexplained footsteps. Many visitors to the fort have also reported being touched by unseen hands in the lower casements. There have also been many other mysterious noises and apparitions seen by visitors.

The fort is well known for the apparition of a headless soldier. In 1972 a soldier was decapitated by a cable attached to a 12 ton cannon which broke under the strain. It is rumoured that this soldier now roams the fort.

Ghost Hunting
We have been investigating the #RedoubtFort since 2017 and we have witnessed lots of paranormal occurrences as we set up waiting for guests to arrive. As well as capturing interesting photos in various rooms, we often hear disembodied whistles and names being called.

Our favourite areas are; The room with all the display cases, ouija boards are good here, the room with the boat, again ouija boards and table tilting are good here. The Cells are always quite active for tech and EVP’s as is the room with the bunk beds and the very lifelike mannequin which seems to lend itself to good séance sessions.

You can watch our videos at https://youtu.be/3sSi_p5qEMQ?list=PLqWQMrZeI7VTNGFxDqITBPUGEN5PXnAC0

Social Share Toolbar